The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Whilst it is considered that the crucial purpose of science ought to be to enhance individuals’ lives, I completely disagree with this statement for some reasons. The primary reason for rejecting this view is that this view gives rise to several problems. One of the most important problems among them is that the work field of science can be limited by people who acknowledge it. For example, authorities may not provide support to scientists if their studies are not beneficial for humans. As a result of this, scientists cannot freely work in their field. A good example of this, if scientists want to research space, authorities can restrict them from work since this research area may not develop humanity, at first glance; nevertheless, the outcome of this may cause people’s lives to be enhanced in the future. To exemplify, they produce some radioactive technology to detect the cells of cancer and afterwards can find some treatments for cancer. Therefore, knowledge is always important, and The purpose of science is always to produce science. The second reason for rejecting this statement is that people mostly consider that the fields based on mathematics, such as physics or medicine, are most beneficial for improving humanity. However, social sciences such as history and philosophy play a pivotal role in human life. This is because, in today’s world individuals always are interested in the past and future because people’s power stems from the past and it is spent to discover the future. Thus, people succeed to live in the world. However, at first glance, history does not serve or enhance the community; nevertheless, it still is beneficial for humanity. To conclude, the purpose of science is to produce scientific knowledge, and people’s lives sustain not only physical development but also cognitive development.