In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks.

As the crime rate is rising. It is advised to have security cameras in public places. However, some people feel insecure and uncomfortable around them. It appears to be a hurdle in one's privacy. In my view, the advantages of having cameras are far more than the disadvantages. In this essay, we will discuss why the benefits are more than the drawbacks. First of all, video surveillance promotes a safe environment. With the fear of getting caught, criminals think twice before doing any wrong deeds. Additionally, video cameras act as valid and strongest proof in legal firms. It makes investigation easy and helps to find out who is guilty. Not only this but also, one can easily monitor their properties or business by sitting far away. Having cameras solves many problems, for example finding missing items, shoplifting and many more. In recent reports released by the provincial police of Ontario, 55% less crimes are reported after making it mandatory to have cameras in public places. Secondly, video cameras come in handy for public places, which get a lot of traffic. We cannot deny the fact that being supervised all the time creates doubt. There are high chance that one can misuse the data. However, the advantage of the video camera cannot be ignored. In conclusion, security cameras should be mandatory in public places. Furthermore, confidentiality should be taken into consideration, ensuring no leakage of private data. I completely agree with the statement that the advantages are much higher than the disadvantages.