Nowadays there is more and more competition between older and younger people for the same jobs. What problems does this create? How can they be solved?

At present, there is an increasingly stiff competition between young and old employees for the same position. This essay will reveal the negative consequences of this trend and provide suggestions to alleviate these problems. First of all, the younger generation finds it difficult to compete with the older ones in the labour market, leading to a higher unemployment rate among youngsters. Older people are usually given more favourable consideration because they are well-experienced. For instance, considering interviews which often involve a lot of problem-solving questions, candidates with industry backgrounds usually perform better because they are more capable to give well-rounded answers compared with the freshers. In addition, increased competition also leads to more unemployment. Those who are jobless, do not have a stable source of income and therefore are more likely to commit crimes such as robbery and burglary for their living. In order to alleviate the problem, several measures can be introduced by the government. One effective way is to provide sufficient social support for the old people such as increasing the amount of pension, incentivizing senior workers to retire and freeing up job positions for the juniors. Furthermore, the government can mandate all the companies to have a fixed quota of jobs set aside for people under and over a certain age to reduce the rivalry. In conclusion, it is evident that the rising competition between younger and older generations is detrimental to the overall development of the society including upward mobility of youngsters and social stability. Therefore, it is necessary for the government to impose measures such as incentives for retirement to create a multi-generational working environment.