Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think thia is a positive or a negative development?

It has been witnessed during the past few years that a significant number of people tend to use conventional medicine rather than visiting their family doctor for treatment. This essay will discuss the merits and the demerits and my opinion will be presented as well. On the other hand, some opine that using medicine has side effects in the long term, in the sense that the chemicals will be stored in the liver, which will definitely cause other problems after years. Besides that, they got their information from their ancestors, articles they read on social media or even from watching reels on YouTube. In other words not from a medical source. However, it cannot be denied also that some treatments have proved effective. For example, the Chinese air suction cups have effectively relieved pain and cured many diseases that modern medicine could not treat. On the other hand, individuals should be aware that many diseases share similar symptoms, meaning that, specific tests or even X-ray examinations must be done before identifying the exact problem. Therefore, in some cases, conventional medicine could make the problem worse and could lead to severe pain rather than relieving it. A clear example could be ginger which is known as a natural antibiotic, however excessive consumption of it would certainly raise blood pressure and increase heartbeats. To sum up, the aforementioned points clearly show the advantages and the disadvantages of both methods. Anyway, personally I believe that conventional and modern medicine are effective only if a consultation by a professional is done first to avoid any possible medical problems which may threaten people's lives.