Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialize online than face to face, is this a positive or negative development?

In present time, mostly individuals prefer to connect with others through online social platforms, which I assume is a negative development. This is because, virtual interactions gives easy accessibility to personal information and increase the crime level by targeting vulnerable age group. First of all, people can easily be fooled by virtual friends. To expound, connecting to someone through social media makes easy for fraudster to hack personal information, particularly, one's bank details. There are many who got trapped by hackers and had to bear hefty financial loss, As a result of this, sometimes, they even lost their lifetime earnings. For instance, in 2023, a business woman in America lost her hard- earned money just with a single click and by trusting a stranger who met her on dating website. Her only mistake was clicking on a link sent by her online friend. Therefore, an abovementioned incident vividly explain the negative effects of socializing online. Moreover, this trend puts the lives of younger children at stake. They are the easy targets of online offenders, where they can access children's online contact list and pretend to be someone known for them. Hence, minors got trapped promptly just after exchanging their photographs that further put them in trouble. Illustrating this more, recently a child got trapped just by accepting a friend request from a fake profile. A person pretended to be family friend, but in reality was a sexual predator, called an innocent child to rape before killing her. Therefore, this mishappening persuades the community to believe that online social sites are unsafe, distrustful and brings more troubles. In conclusion, the trend of online socializing attracts crime and specifically affects the adolescents by snatching their innocence.