To what extend is the nuclear technology a danger to life on Earth? What are the benefits and risks associated with its use?

It is commonly accepted that many people are afraid of the usage of nuclear power because of the dangers associated with its use. In my opinion, although it is true that nuclear weapons pose one of the greatest threats to life, the operation of nuclear technology for peaceful purposes also carries with it serious risks. To begin with, many are the benefits that nuclear automation brings to our lives. For example, nuclear power stations provide an important source of cheap and renewable energy for many industrialized nations and some developing countries. Moreover, radiation machinery is even adopted to help cure diseases such as cancer. In fact, if it is applied to the body it could burn away cancerous cells and give a better life to the patient. Nuclear technology contributes in many ways to improve human life and the world too. On the other hand, despite the advancements that this technology has had over the last century, many people hold the opinion that risks and misuses are still more than positive aspects. Firstly, the production of energy from radioactive materials produces nuclear waste which is very difficult to get rid of. Secondly, using radiation to cure people of cancer not only is not always successful but is even a painful and dangerous procedure. In addition, military purposes are one of the most worrying arguments. Despite atomic bombs having completely destroyed cities and caused significant consequences to the lives of entire nations, such as Japan after the Hiroshima and Nagasaki disaster, some countries like Russia did not stop the construction of such deadly weapons. To recapitulate concerning all facts, although there are many peaceful applications of nuclear power that supply improvements, it is difficult not to consider all the still unavoidable risks and abuses.