Some believe that engaging in an active pastime does more to develop life skills than time spent reading To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view

Spending time doing activities develops life skills as compared to time spent reading books and novels. This argument has been in discussion for a long time. I believe, there are high chances of getting life lessons during active pastime. Whereas, reading can only raise specific knowledge. The advantages of spending time doing different activities are vast. Let's say, an individual does workout on a daily basis to keep himself healthy. During his workout, he/she may get a chance to interact with other people who wants to share their life experience or workout techniques. Similarly, he/she will get to know what exercises can make people healthy. It will help you in developing other life skills like driving, handling difficult situations or dealing with people On the other hand, reading will give you only a limited set of ideas and nobody will be able to implement them practically. Reading can only help in some stages of life and every aspect of life is not covered in books. For example, my friend spent most of his time reading and he used to miss out on every plan that we made for hangout. When we share our experiences with him, he is unable to link those situations with his knowledge extracted from books. There is another drawback, reading can affect your eyesight which can be problematic for some individuals. In conclusion, people get life lessons when they are involved in outdoor activities as compared to people engaged in reading. It provides you with a platform to test your limits in a practical environment and improve things on your own. Reading provides less opportunity to break barriers and fewer chances to experience real-world problems