In advertising nowadays, businesses usually highlight and emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why do businesses practice this? Do you think this development is a positive practice or a negative one?

Nowadays, many business companies show their newest product to customers through advertising. In my opinion, the practice helps to make the brand outstanding in the market competition and generate more income which clearly can be beneficial for the companies. Firstly, through advertising, people have a clear understanding of the new merchandise. The more attractive the product is, the quicker it is known by the public. In other words, the product will become a best seller if the publicity is done well. To illustrate, The Chinese manufacturer which is known as Oppo, launched a phone with powerful beauty features and started advertising it as the best phone, and this new phone quickly became the best seller on the phone sales charts. Another reason to emphasize the novelty of the product is to promote healthy competition in the market benefiting consumers. That is to say, it will focus on the new function of the product, and therefore, the company will produce products that offer a better value for money. Hence, consumers can get better-performing products for less money. For example, in China, as more and more video apps are developed, it is becoming cheaper and cheaper to become a member of each app. Finally, the highlights and focus on the new product are certainly beneficial and can help people buy cost-effective merchandise. Furthermore, healthy competition is the driving force behind the company's innovation and promotes its growth. In conclusion, the advertisement emphasizing high-performance products is not only beneficial to the firms but also can bring more profit. If the competition in the market continued, it would help customers to buy better products with less money.