Most societies are based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they wanted, society could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

At present, countries around the globe operate by rules established by their respective governments. The purpose of which is to preserve order in the land. Thus, many believe that, should these abstract barriers were to be lifted, pandemonium would be unleashed. In my opinion, this hypothesis holds a considerable amount of merit, prompting me in absolute agreement. In the following essay, I will discuss what a lawless world might look like. Laws at their base are morally objective ideas that are meant to be accepted to ensure a safe environment. To that end, a governing body is put in place, whose sole purpose is to make sure the regulations are given proper respect. Hence, a state devoid of such bodies would soon collapse. For instance, In the early thirteenth century, the death of an Anglo-Saxon monarch named King James II caused a power vacuum. As the ruler had no successor, many factions of nobles and religious figures as well as peasants engaged in a bloody civil war that ended in casualties of epic proportions. Therefore, a land without authority is poised to be in ruins. Furthermore, it is no different in modern times as well. The political structure of the past known as "Absolute Democracy" was considered highly flawed, as it gave all the political power in the hands of the public. Ultimately, this will result in individuals fighting for their self-interest and agendas. Even after its evolution, the concept of "Representative Democracy" can devolve into its chaotic past version. To give a hypothetical example, in a state bereft of law, crime will flourish. Murder and robbery will go unpunished, and those who are morally bankrupt will prosper and rule over the meek. Therefore, reverting the civilization back to its former untamed self. To conclude, a future where anarchy prevails is indeed a horrible one and utmost efforts must be made to ensure it never comes to reality.