In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

One of the most challenging problem in our society is the question of who should be responsible for the elderly people. That problem is not just a financial problem, also it’s a question of what we want in our society for them. In the present essay, I would like to talk about two different ways to cope with the old people ’s care but opting more for the government who it’s must be responsible for them. Firstly, we have to keep in mind that the majority of the old people have worked a lot in the past and due to this fact, the companies which they were working for have to be responsible for their retired employees. For instance, most of the workers in Spain are contributing an amount of their wage to social security to achieve when they will get the age of retirement, an amount that it’s called ‘pension’ to be able to survive. This quantity always depends on how many hours have you done at your job and how much of your salary have you contributed to this public organization. On the other hand, another possibility would be those people who have never worked in a legal way in their life, or otherwise they didn’t get at least ‘x’ years, to be able to get paid. For example, it’s hard to say but, nowadays we can see a lot of people in the word living like a homeless people when they get old because they don’t have money for afford an accommodation or even though their family doesn’t want take care of them, treating them as a burden instead of as a family. To sum up, to be honest I must admit that I can’t choose between one of these models because both of them have advantages and drawbacks at the same time. However, overall, if old people were able to contribute to the economic system, government should pay for this care.