Many people argue that restaurants should be required to disclose the nutritional information of the dishes they serve. Do the advantages of this outweigh/overshadow the disadvantages?

Many people advocate for menu labeling requirements in restaurants. From my viewpoint, I approve of the suggestion as the nutritional content of menu items brings more pros than cons. Some people argue that listing nutrient information, especially calorie counts, can be misleading and risky for fast food establishments. To be specific, individuals with incomprehensive knowledge about food tend to consider low calorie foods as healthy and ignore the nutrient-dense dishes that may contain higher calories. In addition, restaurants that serve unhealthy food with redundant fat may undergo a profit decrease because of the loss of attractions and consumers. Nevertheless, these demerits are insufficient to overshadow the merit of menu labeling. In fact, the practice of listing nutritional value of menu items assists people with dietary restrictions and promotes healthier food choices. For instance, calorie counts enable gym-goers to estimate their calories consumption. Furthermore, by being informed about all the ingredients, customers who fall prey to several allergies can make the suitable orders. Moreover, as the high rate of obesity is mostly caused by the habit of eating out, nutritional content can facilitate people to make informed decisions on nutrient-dense items. A study conducted in some cafeterias proves that menu labeling has a great impact on ordering behavior as 60% consumers order low calorie drinks. In short, nutrition listing may generate incorrect conception among people because of the calorie fact and cause monetary damage to establishments with nutrient-poor meals. Nonetheless, menu labeling brings more benefit to the health-conscious crowd as well as results in an increase in people's awareness about food intake.