Many people nowadays tend to marry and have children in their thirties rather than at a younger age. Is this a positive or negative development?

At the present day, there is a growing trend among newly wedded couples to have children in their 30s years old which is quite late compared to past generations who did it in their 20s or earlier. I believe that, numerous benefits are associated with this tendency from the psychological and financial perspective which will be discussed in the following paragraphs. To begin with, at younger ages, mostly in their 20s, individuals are at the beginning of their professional lives, just starting to step up the career ladder. It is a known fact that, at the earliest stages of this path, people have to work extra hard by showing their full dedication and support in order to improve and specialize in their jobs. By doing so, these adults achieve prestigious positions and income by their 30s which is a tremendously significant aspect of starting a family. That is, partners who want babies have to be able to first pay out their bills and rent, then think about the provision of education and other expenses for their kids to make a better future for them. To give an example, according to a survey, in most Asian families, married couples tend to set a target of deposits before pregnancy to be able to afford the child’s expenses in the future, such as babysitting and education. Additionally, as people in their 30s have already set up their professional work, housing and other crucial aspects of living, they do not have any other concerns to bear together with a child. Therefore, individuals are psychologically ready to have a baby at later ages which tends to have much happier families in the future than offspring at the earliest ages of their youth making one another’s life miserable. For instance, statistics show that more than half of divorces are due to the reason of not being able to look after their spouse and baby as they do not know how which is the case for couples who marry at younger ages. To sum up, getting married and having offspring in the third decade of life is successful progress towards a better future, owing to the fact that people at these ages tend to be able to carry the burden of extra responsibilities, including having a wife or husband and getting a child together.