Some feel that individuals should try to assimilate completely to the country where they live while others feel it is more important to preserve their native culture. Discuss both side and give your opinion.

The advancement of technology, ease of processes and the growth of population have resulted in an increase in the rate of immigration. As people immigrate from one place to another, there is an influence on the native people and their cultural practices. Some people adapt to those influences and some strictly try to preserve their native culture. This essay will discuss both viewpoints and conclude with my opinion. Change is the only thing that is constant. It is believed by most of the society. Human beings have to adapt to the changes coming with each day in order to survive in this era. When people come from other countries to stay in a new area, the local people try to learn new and useful habits from them, which in turn will assist and ease their existing approaches. Besides, they will become more efficient by adapting to new approaches. For instance, if a modern couple has come to stay in a village from a city, they will bring their city culture with them. Some of the processes they use will definitely help the villagers. For example, the water they used to wash the utensils was recycled to be used in the garden. By seeing this, the locals can also adapt to recycling water used in their households. There can be many such scenarios where locals should try to assimilate the new culture which is useful, not only for them but also for the environment. There is also a set of people who do not agree with this. They are of the viewpoint that the native traditions have to be preserved. Mostly, because they are afraid of the fact that their cultural trends will be lost if they adapt to new approaches. For instance, most of the people living on the outskirts of the cities or villages, depend on natural home remedies for any illness. If any pharmacy is opened in such villages, they totally revolt against it as they are under the impression that it will take their natural healing techniques away from them and they do not trust modern medicines. However, there are few illnesses, for which only modern medicine can provide treatment. Trust has to be built in locals so that they are not afraid of their cultural loss. In my opinion, change is very important these days, and one should adapt and assimilate completely to the country where they live. Without this, it will be difficult to survive in a new country and consequently will result in lower confidence in living in a new country if one does not adapt to their culture. In conclusion, people should not stick to their cultural traditions when they move to another place to live, rather they should adapt to their culture and traditions in order to survive a happy and fulfilling life.