Developing the economy will always damage the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many argue that enhancing the economy will have the consequence of threatening nature. In this essay, I would argue that it will not be the case providing that the authorities consider advancing eco-friendly technologies as a means of developing the financial state as well as exploiting minerals at a reasonable rate. One argument in opposition to the belief that improving the financial system will result in damaging the ecosystem is that nowadays because of scientific breakthroughs, governments can invest heavily in sustainable energy rather than conventional energy forms like fossil fuels, which could leave a significant carbon footprint and lead to damaging the world. For instance, last year the United States' federal government passed a bill to invest more than 40 billion dollars every year in eco-friendly technologies in the hopes of replacing a portion of energy consumption with a more sustainable form. The administration believes that this large investment would provoke economic growth as well. Hence, there are ways to enhance the economy while preserving the natural world. Moreover, mankind is now capable of managing and predicting accurately what amount of resources is reasonable to excavate in order the cause the least damage to the ecosystem. This has led to the preservation of critical minerals and sources such as gold and diamond for the long term, which can push the feeling of security and confidence to the economy that these reservoirs are not going to exhaust in the near future, which in itself may trigger confidence in the market and growth as a consequence. For example, the lack of Silicon resources, which is an essential element in the manufacturing of cell phones and computers, was the prime contributor to the surge in the price of these gadgets last year. In conclusion, I would argue that nowadays, due to scientific advancements, economic development is not necessarily synonymous with environmental destruction, and therefore, the policymakers can invest in eco-friendly technologies rather than traditional ones, additionally they can manage the exploitation of resources so that less harm would be done to the environment.