Some people think although countries with long average working hours are economically successful, this often has some negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views on whether extending workers’ legislated working time is beneficial to those states or not. I believe that it would facilitate the growth of the economy to some extent. However, the detrimental impacts on citizens’ lives should not be overlooked. Thus, I agree with the mentioned proposal. On the one hand, the need for the employees to work for long hours would benefit the nations in finance. To begin with, the nations that require the workers to maintain the working status for a longer time would have sufficient products compared with those that have shorter hours. Besides, the factories would allocate less money to the costs of labourers like welfare, healthcare and the expenses of job training. With such lower costs on employees and superior capacity of productivity, those countries would be the ideal places for foreign companies to invest and then the amount of job opportunities will be offered to the citizens. Lastly, longer working hours mean that the labourers possess higher disposable incomes would in return stimulate the economy. For example, they have more money to enable their families to experience better service in various social systems such as the medical system, educational system and transportation system, which enhance their sense of well-being. On the other hand, mandating longer working time to the society would inflict harm on the residents. Firstly, the working system which sacrifices the workers’ personal time would impair the cohesion among their families since the extra hours taken up by the workload should have been spent on taking care of families and they are absent from significant family moments as well. Secondly, the social atmosphere can be unstable and the workers who suffer from the extensive working hours get ignited easily. Finally, with the negative emotions in the long run, the employees’ health may be destroyed physically and mentally, which places great pressure on the medical system. For instance, a form of obesity as a consequence of depression from long- time work contributes to a series of illnesses and is detrimental to their overall health. In conclusion, longer working hours can boost the economy and facilitate the growth of revenue, whereas the disadvantages for society are too apparent to be ignored.