Some people say that the first impressions when you meet someone ate always right. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

There is the belief that the first thoughts you have about someone, when meeting them, are always right. I completely disagree with this idea. I personally do not enjoy this type of thinking because it takes away the opportunity to actually get to know a person. The first few minutes or even hours are not in any way enough to fully understand someone. First, because humans often put on a mask. This is a well-known psychological phenomenon. As social creatures, we want to fit in a community, so we;ie to appear more like the others in the group. Also, we want others to see us in our best possible light and we may not always say the truth to achieve that. For example, I have many times lied about how I feel, when asked, because I did not want to bother the people around me with my emotions. Another point is that often we make predictions. For instance, she is a lawyer, therefore she must like to argue or he is an accountant, so he must be boring. These stereotypes only hurt us and stand in our way to actually see the person in front of us for who they are and not what we have made them out to be. In my eyes what you see is not what you get. I am a perfect example. I dress in all black, wear many rings, ripped jeans and leather jackets. Many people would not think of that when thinking about the best student in the class. In conclusion, humans are complicated beings. It is not as easy as taking a look at someone and already knowing everything about them. Time is needed because what is on the outside is rarely what is on the inside.