In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way.

Needless to say, businesses usually try to convince customers that their products are new in their own sector and they emphasise that matter in their advertising. There are some considerable reasons why firms prefer it, such as attracting shoppers, staying competitive and so on. It is evident that this situation has both positive like encouraging innovations and detrimental impacts like overconsumption. One of the primary reasons is that businesses want to attract customers' attention and this method is an elemental way for it. It is evident that the preponderance of individuals are more prone to buying something belonging to the newness category, it is an extremely useful way to make money. This strategy with a multitude of benefits is used by businesses in an array of countries around the world. For instance, the technology giant Apple recognises a new model iPhone every year, however, a new model does not differ from the previous one, Apple sells a myriad of new iPhones with the help of the advertising strategy; newness. I advocate that the drawbacks of this argument outweigh its positive sides. It is hard to say that companies’ this advertising method is completely detrimental but it directly affects the customers negatively because it can often lead to overconsumption. People are convinced that the new product is better previous one and they tend to buy it even though they really do not need it. For instance, Samsung which primarily produces smartphones introduced a new model of smartphone with a highly expensive price, so this new one mainly does not vary previous model but people tend to buy it due to advertising, and it leads to overconsumption because an old model phone does not use although it is workable. In conclusion, from big companies to small businesses emphasise that their products are new in their advertising for some reasons, including making more money. Moreover, It leads to some negative issues such as overconsumption.