A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

These days, people are being judged on the basis of their materialistic things and financial status in society. Also, moral values and respect are considered as an unimportant part of life. In my opinion, people determine each other through valuable possessions, but some of the population still values honour and ethnicity. To begin with, in this modern world, the first thing that people notice about each other is materialistic possessions such as bank balance, business, cars and prices of houses. Also, social media has provided an opportunity to keep an eye on individuals' materialistic things. Moreover, in developed as well as in developing countries people who are rich and have a high social status are given priority, respect, preference and platforms to build relationships. For instance, a young girl or a boy, who belongs to a rich background often attracts more wedding proposals and a large number of work opportunities due to high social rank. Contrarily, respect, kindness, and faith also hold a significant place in certain individuals' lives. For example, highly educated people, elderly people, and villagers always give preference to moral values and honour. Through education, life experiences, and a rustic lifestyle they gain an in-depth understanding of the role of values and morals in people's lives and relationships. To be more specific, most of the Indian population adopt moral values in their lives and they respect personalities such as Ratan Tata, Sudha Murthy, Satinder Sartaj, etc. who connect them with their values and humanity. To conclude, I fervently believe that due to modernisation, people have begun giving value to material possessions and net worth. Whereas, some individuals still embrace historical values and consider moral values over financial status.