Some people think that the teenage years are the happiest time of most people’s lives. Others think that adult life brings more happiness, in spite of greater responsibility. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that some feel the youngsters can enjoy the happiest time in their lives, while others believe that adults’ lives are more enjoyable despite bigger responsibilities. In this essay, I will explain why I tend to agree with the latter. I concede that there might be some reasons for why people think that they are much happier in their youth time and perhaps the most obvious one is they do not need to be concerned about life expense. When they are young, they usually live with their parents and just need to focus on studies, in turn invariably allowing them to enjoy their life and have no life burden. What it does is make it potentially incredibly beneficial. For example, my niece Lily, who is 13, lives with her family, enabling her to focus on learning and be happy about her life, and this ultimately results in her having a positive outlook on her life. However, I believe that becoming an adult is a happier time during our whole life. One compelling reason is that a grown-up person has a chance to make decisions, and this can give us a sense of achievement. If people make their own choices, they tend to work hard to attain the best result, and this leads to them understanding the meaning of hard work and developing self-confidence and is absolutely crucial. Another reason is that adults can make contributions to society which is the key to fulfillment. Many adults in Guangzhou, for instance, dedicate their time to charities. As such, they learn life lessons and gain a sense of achievement, which is why they consider adulthood as the happiest time in their life. In conclusion, while there are some reasons for people think that the teenage years is the best time of their life, I believe that becoming an adult gives them more chances to experience the true value of a human being.