Many people argue that free public transportation should be available in most major cities. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this idea?

Nowadays, some big cities have been developing their mass transportation system to improve their services. Many individuals believe that most metropolitan cities ought to provide free public transportation. This essay will discuss both the merits and demerits of this idea. To begin with, there are several positive impacts from this view. First and foremost, providing uncharged public transportation attracts many people to use this kind of facility. This method also helps more commuters to keep mobilizing with mass transport such as buses and trains from their respective places to cities, and vice versa. Furthermore, this practice leads to diminishing traffic congestion in numerous city road points. Thus, the rate of air pollution in most big cities decreases significantly. For example, air quality in Switzerland is getting better after the Government issued a zero-price policy for transportation. On the other hand, this policy also creates some negative sides such as many passengers getting in long queues because most major cities still do not have adequate mass transportation modes to support the free mass transportation system. To illustrate, Hinder land cities which border Jakarta such as Bekasi and Depok have limited public vehicles, as a result,it leads users to swift in private vehicles particularly, motorcycles and bicycles. Moreover, the realization of new vehicles for public transportation requires huge money. So, it could be a double-edged sword for the government that might result in getting into debt to other countries which possibly have high interests. In a nutshell, Giving free charge on public transportation can be beneficial as it alleviates passengers and reduces traffic jams. In addition, it should not be forgotten that it creates long user queues and authority debts.