Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued that written exams are a better component to judge a students skill rather than cognitive activities, such as group projects. I completely disagree with the above said notion, however, a number of arguments surround my opinion and a contrete answer is given below. There are several reasons to support my opinion. To commence with, the level of student's stress can be increased by the fact that they only have one chance to prove themselves for their knowledge. To elaborate, the formal system allows students to appear for the examination once a semester and a second chance is provided with certain restrictions. Furthermore, it hampers their capabilities due to peer pressure. For example, in India, a competitive exam for pursuing a Masters degree in a reputed college is held once a year, and most of the examgivers examiners mention that they cannot do their best because of this issue. Whats more, assigning the students group activities or tasks in a semester helps in the development of traits including leadership and co-operation. Moreover, by giving more chances to practice, a benchmark will be set for them and they will perform better than the previous time. For instance, the examiners can announce that in-class activities will be taken place by the end of each topic. Also, the intention to participate in the class discussion by the students will proliferate resulting in more atendees To conclude, I strongly believe that indulging students in group activites could be a better way to assess skills rather than formal examinations, as it includes various brainstorming sessions which lead to an overall development of the individuals.