These days it is much easier for many people to travel to different countries for tourism than in the past. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Nowadays, the population of international tourists shows an upward trend around the globe since it is much easier for people to travel overseas than in the past few decades. Although there are some concerns, I believe the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, the development of international tourism results in several downsides. Firstly, it is prevalent to see tourist spots littering with garbage. For example, Hualien, a beautiful city in Taiwan which is well-known for its astonishing landscapes suffers from certain levels of environmental damage. Moreover, overseas tourists bring culture shock to some rural regions. They might lose their unique culture through cultural exchange. However, these are not something that couldn’t be solved. The government could set a regular basis to manage the bursting tourist population and protect their original culture. On the other hand, because international tourism enhances cultural exchange, the boundary between different races is blurred. People from unalike cultures can now understand each other. In other words, international tourism not only helps people to build friendly connections and contact but also opens a door for us to expand learning to different aspects. What is more, international tourism boosts the economy by linking many occupations to a big industry chain. Restaurant and hotel owners, tour guides, and taxi drivers can all benefit from visitors who are from different countries. For instance, Bali provides perfect service for tourists from all around the world and has built many heaven-like resorts. There is vast majority of people who live in Bali are working in a part of the huge tourist industry chain and big resorts earn considerable amounts of money annually. To sum up, everything has two sides and international tourism is no exception. Despite the development leads to several drawbacks, the benefits which are brought from overseas tourists make the development bright.