Many food are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages.

In this day and age, many people believe that consuming locally grown food has more economic and environmental advantages than eating imported food. While both have their own merits and demerits, I deem that the upsides of domestic food outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand, the consumption of non-locally grown foods might have certain advantages and disadvantages. One of the primary merits is the food diversity of these products. By importing foods from other countries, inhabitants will be able to try a wide range of foods that can satisfy their appetite, make their diets less tedious and entirely provide nutrients needed for their health. However, shipping foreign foods over long distances will possibly pose a serious threat to the environment. In fact, a great deal of fossil fuels will be used to transport these foods, this can result in a large amount of carbon dioxide, leading to air pollution. On the other hand, to put more weight on my point of view, I opine that consuming domestic food has more significant benefits. Firstly, the use of local products may have positive impacts on the local economy. This will not only provide various job opportunities for citizens, but also help to promote national food production and improve the country’s economy. Secondly, in light of priorities over domestic products, which means that we are doing a favour for the ecosystem. By eating these foods, we can curb plenty of emissions released and transportation. Thus, air pollution and waste from packaging might be reduced as well. To summarize, with the persuadable arguments mentioned above, despite of downsides related to culinary experiences and price manipulation, I deem that locally grown foods are actually beneficial by boosting the economy and protecting the environment.