The amount of sport, shown on television every week has increased significantly and this is having an impact on live sport events. Do you think the benefits of having more televised sport are greater than the disadvantages?

Modern day technology has enabled us to be up to date on international affairs across the globe, including sports events. Based on the fast progression of satellite engineering, it is safe to presume that the current amount of television coverage will undoubtedly increase further in the years to come. Live sports events have already been influenced by the phenomenon; there is, however, both benefits and drawbacks. Some have called television "man's new best friend", with its spectacular live-streaming abilities, making it possible for viewers to savour the excitement and thrills of a being at a live event at the comfort of one's couch. Not to mention, constant replays also breaks down the invisible time zone barriers. Another bonus is the possibility of abolishing " sports racism"-extortionate ticket prices usually meant only the privileged went to live sports events, thus inspiring more people to participate in sports events. On the contrast, the disadvantages of having so many sports on television are the general decline in ticket sales, this is especially evident in smaller sports and games. In addition, without a live crowd to cheer them on, it will unquestioningly have an impact on the athletes' morale. If circumstances worsen, it just might put minor leagues or teams out of business. While televised sport has created many opportunities, it is also responsible for irreversibly changing the nature of live sports events. Whether it is a change for good or not, it is in my opinion that the benefits slightly outweigh the disadvantages.