To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

Various countries are known for eating insects and other exotic animals. Others believe that to support the continuous high demand for food due to the increasing population, a country should introduce edible insects as an alternative food source. Although, others argue that eating insects is detrimental to one's health as well as to the environment. This essay will discuss in detail the advantages and disadvantages of eating insects. Eating exotic insects is widespread globally, especially in the urban areas of a country. Some experts believe that eating these kinds of food is good for one's health and offers some kinds of medicinal effects. For instance, China is one of the nations that is well known for using exotic animals as an ingredient for creating medicine. Furthermore, it also became a way to attract tourists. Thailand in particular is one of the most visited area not only due to its vast culture but also due to their street foods which offers edible insects like cockroaches centipedes and scorpions. On the other hand, there are some factors that we need to recognise before going deeper into the cultivation of insects for food consumption. Moreover, some of the epidemic diseases start from hunting these type of exotic animals. For example, just a few years ago in Wuhan, China COVID-19 originated due to the bats that were hunted by the locals.The spread of the disease deeply affected the whole world and took a lot of lives. It is better for the local government to monitor the consumption of insects in their respective place and to do more research in order for them to be safe for consumption. To conclude, there are advantages of eating edible insects such as increased tourism and health benefits, however it is critical to be aware of the consequences of harvesting these types of commodities.