Some people think eating meat is bad for health. Do you agree or disagree?

Many individuals eat less meat compared to previous generations as there is clear evidence it may not be nutritious. In my opinion, although meat is often eaten in unhealthy contexts, it is generally healthy if prepared correctly. Those who argue that meat is inherently unhealthy point out modern insights into nutrition. Many meats, most infamously red meats such as pork and beef, contain fats that can build up and contribute to the leading cause of death globally: cardiovascular disease. Added to this is the fact that meaty dishes are often saturated with heavy carbohydrates, salt, sugar, and other unhealthy fats like butter. One standout example of this would be the cheeseburger, one of the most popular meal items globally. Not only is the red meat bad for heart health, but the buns, cheese, and potentially other toppings only hinder short- and long-term nutritional goals. However, meat on its own is crucial due to its high protein levels. Many vegetarians and vegans would argue that protein can be sourced from a variety of nutritious and vitamin-dense nuts and vegetables. Though there is some truth to this, the levels of protein in other foods are low, and there are certain essential compounds that can only be found in meat. The best evidence for this comes not only from nutritional studies but also from human prehistory. For thousands of years, people have been subsisting on diets high in meat, which have greatly contributed to the flourishing of the human race generally and civilization more specifically. Consumed without unhealthy ingredients, there is simply no greater source of energy for the average person. In conclusion, though many meat dishes are high in fat, salt, sugar, and carbohydrates, meat itself is an excellent and healthy source of protein that has historically been a part of the human diet. Individuals in this case, as in all others, should therefore pursue a more moderate approach.