Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent times, more and more records have been broken by professional athletes. Some people claim that physical strength plays an essential role in these achievements while others suppose that mental strength is way more crucial. In this essay, I will explore the importance of both physical and mental health in sports and also draw some conclusions. Let’s begin by looking at the advantages of mental power. It is obvious that a sportsman who plays under no pressure can settle his ideal performance throughout the game. Especially when the match reaches the climax, a man with a stable mindset will help his team stay focused and overcome any combo attack from rivals. One of the most obvious examples is from football, in which two teams define victory by penalty. At that time, besides skills and careful observations, soccer players needed to keep a cool head in order to not get distracted from spectaculars, otherwise they may fail a penalty shot. Turning to the other side of the opinion, players who have stronger muscles and body shape often have higher advantages in sports. The main reason is that they can jump higher, run faster and even keep their breath stable at the end of the match compared to other competitors. Again, with the example of football, the majority of champions of the tournament might come from Western countries and Africans rather than Asians because of natural body growth. They are often taller and bigger than Asians, therefore, they can win against opponents in most face-to-face attacks. In conclusion, both a clear mindset and body durability are necessary for an athlete’s victory. Although holding emotions stable enables sportsmen to keep concentration, body strength is key to knocking out opponents in the end. I do believe that physical durability is more important than mental power.