In recent years, there has been a significant increase in the number of oil drilling operations in remote locations around the world. This has brought economic benefits to some countries, though it has also raised concerns about the environmental impact of these operations. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion

Nowadays, there has been an argument as to whether many countries in the world are carrying out oil drilling activities. While advocates support that the operations contributed mainly to economic growth, objectors claim it can lead to environmental damage. In my opinion, I argue that it will have alarming consequences for many creatures and their habitats in nature. On the one hand, some countries oil reserves have taken a range of steps to use them to accelerate their economic expansion. While the demand for fossil fuels continues to be higher as vehicles are still operating on oil; although governments encourage people to use electric vehicles, some countries maintain drilling for their economic interests. For instance, Russia and the USA allocate a significant part of budget their expenditures to oil exploration the are turning to exploit the increasing fossil fuel demand. On the other hand, legitimate concerns have been expressed by environmentalists about the potential negative repercussions of unsustainable oil exploration on the normally fragile environment and its rich biodiversity. Oil drilling operations in biodiversity hotspots for the sole purpose of gaining economic benefits are also one of the major contributors to the extinction of thousands of species. For example, years of oil exploration in environmentally sensitive areas of Serbia have destroyed many marine species. In my view, when drilling is implemented an activity that will have devastating effects in the region. At the same time, given the inextricable link between climate change and the overuse of fossil fuels, countries do not have the luxury of continuing oil drilling and investing instead in promoting renewable energy sources. In conclusion, as countries invest heavily in oil exploration to put their economies on the path to high economic growth, the devastating repercussions of this on the world's rich biodiversity cannot be ignored.