Children are facing more pressures from academic, social and commercial sources. What are the causes of these pressures and what measures should be taken to reduce it?

These days, a considerable number of children face pressure not only in terms of their academic performances but also social and commercial sources. This is mainly because of the high expectations from parents and media influence. There are a number of solutions that can be implemented to overcome this pressure. Firstly, many children these days have a stressful life because of their parents ' high expectations. In other words, most parents in today's generation expect their children to be the best, and due to that, they set the bar high for their children in all the exams that they take. For instance, in Korea, children who are still at primary school return home late in the evening because they have to do additional classes after school hours to ensure that they get amazing results in their exams. Secondly, some children are influenced by the media to follow the current lifestyle and trends which sometimes can be followed easily due to family restrictions, cultural backgrounds and financial issues. This can in fact cause them to be stressed. There are two effective ways to deal with this issue. One way is to ensure that all parents are aware that putting high expectations on their children can cause adverse effects. Parents can be educated via social media platforms about the consequences of their behaviour towards their children. For example, the government can come up with short clips about the pressure that is put on children by their parents to perform well academically and what the consequences are. With this they will know in order to be successful, it is not always about getting higher grades at schools. Another step that can be taken is to educate children that they have to be who they are. They should not change the way they look or the way they behave just for the sake of following others. This will hopefully enhance their confidence level. In conclusion, by having educational programmes for both parents and children, these problems can be overcome easily.