Studies have shown that most criminals have low levels of education. Because of this many believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate prisoners so they can get a job after being released. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is an irrefutable fact that violence has become a cause of concern in many societies. Some people claim that education in prison is the best way to limit criminal cases, especially for those who are getting released back into society. It is agreed that educated prisoners can be a good contributor as well as reduce their ability to return to their evil path. Analyzing the role of education for prisoners as well as the benefits of post-release employment will prove this. Firstly, teaching the prisoner during their time being held in captivity can help maximise the time spent in prison without posing a threat to others who are held in the cell. For instance, by adding a new learning section to the schedule, prisoners will be forced to adapt to the rehabilitation and act as a crime deterrent for their time serving in the prison. With the hectic schedule of the warden and a better understanding of the code of ethics, prisoners can work with each other in a better way instead of using violence in action. Therefore, education should always be encouraged as a mandatory process for prisoners of any kind. Secondly, for those who served in prison for a period of time, education is a gateway to a better life in the modern world after they are released. For example, a skilful person, even without official qualification, can still become an employee for any company in need by utilizing their experiences learned from the past. Societies nowadays have many jobs with lower wage budgets or volunteer work and these opportunities can provide post-release employment to prisoners, helping them be useful to the public and avoiding getting back on the criminal path. This will be a positive thing for both employees and employers once they can cooperate in their daily work. In conclusion, it is the fact that learning is an undeniable solution for everyone in the world. As we are living in a society that promotes diversity and equality among everybody, prisoners can still be treated in a good way so they can contribute to society afterwards.