Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A school of thought claims that everybody should be entitled to free higher education regardless of their financial condition. While this thinking is valid to a certain extent, I am convinced that abolishing college tuition is not a good idea. On the one hand, it is understandable why some people advocate waiving university fee. The key rationale is that this will help more students, especially those who come from disadvantaged backgrounds, to pursue tertiary education. As a result, they could stand a better chance of landing higher-paid jobs and bettering their quality of life. However, this thinking is flawed, as the labor market is already competitive. Therefore, a surge in graduates means they will struggle more to seek employment. It could be said that wholly subsidizing college education is counter-productive to job guarantee. Another pronounced drawback is that the provision of free-of-charge tertiary education may have an on students ' academic results. As most undergraduates today have to pay for their education, they are inclined to study in earnest and apply themselves to getting good grades. Therefore, if this financial obligation was distributed, students could be indifferent to their studies and lose the motivation to work hard. As an example, they may skip classes or miss exams since they think that failing does not cost them anything. These behaviors clearly may result in deteriorating performance and students would not benefit from their education. To conclude, I believe that allotting state funding to make universities free of charge does not seem to be a good idea.