Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children.) To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by many people that non-salaried community work should be made compelling for high school students. While this could provide them with pre-graduate experience and help them orientate their future paths, I strongly disagree with this proposal as it creates more pressure for students and depletes their leisure time. On the one hand, working for society could burden tertiary students. Heavy curricula and high expectations from parents and teachers have already put a strain on high school students, forcing them to study hard to pass their exams. Having high school students involved in societal service will only create more pressure as they have to push themselves to accomplish the given work. It should also be considered that whilst students have to participate in community work, they are not allowed to drop any subjects in their programs or have their study hours reduced. As a result, some may have to sacrifice their spare time, which could have been used to release study stress and enjoy themselves, to finish their assignment. For example, many Vietnamese high schools require students to participate in weekly cleaning campaigns, resulting in students ’ lack of free time and increasing stress. On the other hand, some people believe it is beneficial for students to work for society because it enables them to experience the real tension of workplaces and help them to choose their future career. They argue that students can be taught to become responsible, stress endurable and cooperative employees as they have to work together to fulfil the targets on time. Moreover, community services could help students explore their interests and spark their passions for their future occupations. However, being forced to work unpaid, I believe high school students are more likely to detest doing so than consider it as a chance to develop themselves and think for their future. In conclusion, while voluntary community service could help high school students become adaptive workers and discover their desired jobs, I disagree entirely with making it compulsory as it puts more stress on students and takes away their free time.