Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It’s true that most children spend most of their time with their smartphones. Nowadays, it is a controversial issue that people like to debate about. This essay will explain the reason why they are addicted to smartphones and why expect negative developments from them. To begin with, there are two main reasons why teenagers are glued to smartphones almost every time. Firstly, using phones is extremely convenient especially when they study academic subjects. These days, distance learning courses are widely used after the COVID-19 outbreak. For instance, numerous students are taking online courses through Zoom and Skype instead of going to academies to meet the instructors. As this example clearly shows, it is evident that the devices encourage them to learn efficiently. On the other hand, it is true that smartphones exert extremely detrimental impacts on teenagers. There are two main reasons. Firstly, it could distract children’s concentration in their daily lives because they are trying to check their notifications almost every minute. Furthermore, according to a recent study, the researchers said that children’s attention span is getting shorter than in the past. Secondly, it makes them vulnerable to interpersonal skills. This is because they spend most time building virtual relationships on social media such as Instagram and Twitter. Therefore, most children try to avoid meeting people in person. In conclusion, it is true that smartphones are convenient because they allow them to study distance learning courses. However, the disadvantages of using phones far outweigh the advantages since they are unable to pay attention to their life and reduce their social skills.