In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasises that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In modern societies, it is generally claimed by most businesses through their adverts that they are producing items with new features on a regular basis. I believe that this phenomenon happens due to several causes, which are particular to the modern world and are a negative trend resulting in bad outcomes. To begin with, business markets are highly competitive these days, and companies feel the pressure to raise their selling figures in order to maintain their customers. This need makes them create innovative items and stress the newness of these items through different media so that they do not fall behind other brands. Another reason for this emphasis is that people in modern societies are getting easily bored, and because of this, companies and brands try to persuade them to make purchases by emphasizing launching new items. For instance, beauty companies nowadays introduce and launch new types of skin-care and cosmetics products almost every month, which did not even exist in the past. However, I am of the opinion that this emphasis on novelty in commercials negatively affects society in myriad ways. Firstly, these advertisements encourage people to buy more and more goods every day, increasing consumerism, which will definitely harm the environment. Secondly, they are convincing people to buy things that they do not actually need, considering the fact that these "new" items are often the same products with just a few changes and attractive new packages. For example, most of the new skin-care products launched are made of the same material but named differently. In sum, this new trend in publicity used by brands is becoming increasingly widespread in businesses these days for various reasons; however, it could have bad effects on society and the environment since it increases consumption levels. For this reason, I strongly believe that it should be controlled and prevented through effective procedures.