In the advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In today's society, businesses’ products are usually emphasized to be unique in some way in their advertising to boost sales. In my opinion, it is mostly a negative development. Every brand claims that they have products that stand out in the marketplace. The obvious reason for this trend is that all companies want to increase their revenues. But, unfortunately, boosting sales and revenues is not always as straightforward as it may sound, especially, when they are in a cut-throat competition in order to attract customers. By highlighting the products, enterprises are able to get the public's attention, and therefore make them curious and want to experience the appealing products. This can create a large impact on the media which benefits the brand a lot. This trend may have some merits, but it is more likely to cause drawbacks. If the advertised product is nothing novel in the true sense, the customers may feel disappointed as it does not meet their expectations. They are just another version of the same product with a change in look, flavour or ingredients. In the worst case, the brand can even be criticized and boycotted for not respecting and being honest with its consumers. In conclusion, most enterprises often publicise their products as pristine, which is a negative development since it can dupe customers and lead to dissatisfaction. Companies should focus on creating truly innovative products so that customers can trust and decide to purchase them, rather than just using tricks and promoting them as such.