In many countries, formal exams are used to assess students abilities and to judge the success of their education. What are the advantages and disadvantages of using formal exams to assess students abilities? Do you think the benefits of using formal exams outweigh the drawbacks

Formal examinations are an important yardstick to assess the competency of an individual and their educational journey. This essay will evaluate the merits and demerits of using formal examinations. An opinion would be substantiated at the end. To begin with the advantages, formal examinations will set the foundation for a reliable assessment. Students who have gained the relevant technical expertise in the area that they specialize with can be assured of the technical knowledge which they possess. Therefore, this creates an opportunity for them to be employed in a skilled job. For an example: - An individual who makes decisions regarding finances with a certified qualification in accountancy is recognized more than a person who is making decisions with no qualification. Secondly, this would be a common yardstick to evaluate many candidates at once, which can be used for many purposes by the evaluator with a higher evaluation accuracy. On the other hand, exams do not appraise the full scale of a student’s ability. Firstly, it does not evaluate the soft skills of a person because the attitudes and the personality of an individual will not be judged, and this is crucial when it comes to employment. Furthermore, tests may limit the assessment of problem-solving capability of a candidate in a practical situation. This is an essential skill. For an instance: - In the corporate world, most of the work scenarios require individuals to be working under a lot of pressure and it is important at these times to manage your work while managing your team efficiently. Hence, this demands a lot of leadership skills, which is not evaluated through a formal examination. In conclusion, I partially agree with the statement that the benefits of formal exams outweigh the drawbacks always, because formal tests provide an insight into a person’s capability but does not guarantee their performance in a real situation.