Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is true that the number of languages around the world is diminishing every year. Some individuals assume that having less language in today’s world will make it more convenient to communicate. I strongly disagree with this statement. To begin with, language is of paramount importance in people’s lives. Being bilingual or multilingual is highly beneficial to individuals. However, these days many languages are in danger and have died out for several reasons. For instance, the majority of the general population around the world may leave their own country due to changing their job or continuing their education, therefore, they may no longer talk in their mother tongue and they will talk in the language of the destination country. Moreover, some locals may be interested in other cultures and they choose to speak with a non-native language. Thus, the number of native speakers can be reduced in this way. On the other hand, some people believe the use of other languages should be reduced. One of the main reasons is that it is complicated, and they do not make an effort to learn a new language. However, one cannot underestimate the numerous significant effects of using an international language everywhere, such as expanding social networks, opening up a world of employment opportunities, international trade and medicine. As well as this, the widespread use of disappearing languages can be practical. For example, rare languages can be used in an army to secure information processing between the army’s units. In conclusion, I believe that the extinction of some minor languages can worsen the world civilization and deprive it of many practical benefits. It is very important to preserve the minor languages.