Many people in society believe that having fixed punishment for all crimes is a more efficient way of dealing with criminals in the justice system. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment system?

Many individuals hold the belief that a particular person who committed a crime should be subjected to a fixed punishment scheme as it is more efficient. In terms of the advantages, it can make the judicial system run more smoothly and make the work for police officers easy. On the other hand, the disadvantages can lead to an increase in crimes and ineffective justice for properly differentiating the severity of crime. Firstly, for the pros, the smooth functioning of the whole system can reduce a huge burden in this area. Both the courts and police officers can effectively act when such a situation arises and the necessary steps can be taken when an offender gets caught. For example, there are many reports of the increased stack of cases and many pending trials are still going on which gives rise to an increase in budget spending and also less effectiveness. Such a step can be a great relief for everyone as it can make the whole process streamlined. For the case of cons, there is already a steep rise in the number of crimes and every one of them requires a different approach. Walking on this path of setting static punishments can make the criminals more brave as they are already aware of the consequences before and it can also give rise to a lack of proper approach based on the nature of crime. For example, many research studies point out that a personalized way of handling an offender is much better for solving the issue than a generalized approach. This can lead to many such acts arising in current times and also in future and can lead to a bigger issue. In conclusion, based on all the discussion, if we try to optimise our methods on one lane then it leads to a blunder on the other. So this issue requires a deep thoughtful approach before implementing it on a large scale.