Some people think the government funding should not be used for supporting art and culture, while others think supporting cultural activities may be beneficial for the population and the culture. Discuss both these views

It has become a controversial topic whether the government should allocate a budget for art and culture. Although there are some logical reasons to support this idea, I personally believe that funding cultural activities can have great outcomes for society. On the one hand, it can be said that there are many sections in a nation that need the money more than art and culture do. Governments are facing a plethora of problems related to health. Medical services are really expensive and getting health insurance is not easy. To illustrate, people need a facilitated health centre with free treatments more than an art gallery or an amphitheatre. What is more, cities need to be modernized and developed to adopt the modern lifestyle. The new living patterns require a lot of changes that have not been made yet. These are some areas that can use the money better. On the other hand, it is an undeniable fact that cultural activities have a lot of effects on people's lives which have been underestimated. First and foremost, they provide some situations for families to spend more time together. These activities make family bondings stronger, resulting in a healthier environment to grow. By way of illustration, a child, who goes to a movie with their parents and spends more time with them, is more likely to live a happier life. Moreover, funding for culture and art helps the government to build a rich cultural society. By doing this, a brighter future is guaranteed for the country. To conclude, though it seems that the money which is spent on activities related to art and culture can be spent on something more important, I subscribe to the view that it can be really influential on social development.