In some countries, many children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people say it is the responsibility of governments to solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

These days, the ubiquitous presence of fast food chains and a sedentary lifestyle due to the fast-paced environment has caused many young people to become obese and unhealthy. I completely disagree with the idea that governmental bodies have the responsibility to tackle this situation for two main reasons. One reason supporting my disagreement with such an idea is its ineffective nature. Some may argue that increasing the price of fat-laden options or actively promoting a healthy lifestyle might have a positive impact on young children's mindsets. However, such a statement is flawed to me because the main factor leading to ailments associated with obesity is the lack of self-discipline. In other words, even with a massive amount of advertisements that revolved around diets with macronutrients or exercise tutorials, the youths still can not upgrade their quality of life since they only had the intention to satiate their desire to enjoy the sugary foods or continue to maintain their sedentary lifestyle. Another point involves parents should not shirk an obligation as their children's primary guardians and become exemplary images for their sons and daughters to follow. Research has shown that the youths have a tendency to imitate their closest persons as a way to learn and adapt. Therefore, it is clear that young individuals who have parents who commonly consume products containing harmful substances on a daily basis would be futile in reducing obesity status, as opposed to strong kids who are sons and daughters to people who actually attend a sports club instead of only merely advising. In conclusion, I give strong opposition to the statement that the authorities should take responsibility for ensuring a child's well-being because children must have self-discipline and their parents have to complete their roles as supervisors and share this burden.