•Nowadays, sport is a big business with high earnings for professional sports people and companies involved both financially and other ways. Is this a positive or negative development for sports?

A debate about whether high profits from sports professionals and enterprises are an advantage or a downside for the sports industry has been prevalent in our society. While the substantial benefits from this area are foreseeable, in my opinion, this phenomenon has some negative impacts in terms of fraud and cheating scenarios. On the positive side, the commercialization of sports has brought higher incomes to professional athletes all over the world. Those who have talents for specific sports such as tennis, football, and basketball have been paid attention by prestigious companies’ head hunters who will hire them as ambassadors for their brands, for which they represent all the posters and advertisements on social media platforms, attracting many sports fans across the globe. For example, Ronaldo, a top-notch football player, earned almost 100 million US dollars in 2019, according to Forbes, of which the branding sectors account for over half of the total. With that huge influx of money, not only Ronaldo but other young sports athletes are willing to strive for success and easily get access to luxury items. However, this phenomenal case has become a big issue, as those who cannot compete equally with their opponents will find unethical approaches to the match. The financial stakes take a toll on the fairness of a game where candidates get themselves bumped and made stronger by doping abuse and other medicines involved. For example, several skilled athletes cheat by taking doping pills before the match so that they can win and gain enormous recognition from fans and branding enterprises. Owing to this reason, financial and profitable purposes will outweigh the aims of sportsmanship and integrity in the sports industry. To summarize, it is clear that, although commercialization has provided financial opportunities for athletes, who contribute dramatically to their contract companies, from my perspective, it still has a negative influence on the competitiveness and fairness of the tournaments.