Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Aforetime, transportation was a global problem, not only because people had the need to transport themselves to other places, maybe, at work or at school, but also transportation regarding food and drinks in general. For decades, innovations and new technologies have triggered new inventions like railways and roads in order to transport aliments, people or resources. Certainly, those inventions are approached and paid for by the government by means of taxes that citizens pay year after year. On the other hand, a certain number of people consider that the government must spend the money on railways due to the benefits and positive impacts that carry on in the city or country. For example, the United Kingdom has connected the country through railway using hundreds of trains and subways. Nonetheless, the UK has a small percentage of the annual budget invested in roads. Thus, is completely important regarding the boosting of the country. On the other hand, some individuals consider that the government should spend the annual budget on roads instead of railways. The main argument is that roads are much more used by the population. For instance, in the United States 85% of transportation is by means of bus, car or cargo truck, unlike of subway which is used by 10% of the population. Thus, according whit the previous example, for the United States is more beneficial to maintain the roads across the country due to generating more revenue or profit. In conclusion, roads and railways are truly important for the economy of a country. Therefore, the politicians must spend the budget maintaining the subways, trains, fourth-generation highways, etc. Nonetheless, from my perspective roads outweigh the benefits generated by rail lines, both are good enough, but the highways developed more benefits for the country.