Many people today have online friends, even if they rarely meet. In your opinion, how do online and more traditional face-to-face friendships compare?

In our ever-changing world, the rapid development of the internet and technological devices has recreated the way people connect with others, adding online friendships besides traditional face-to-face ones. This essay will analyze these two kinds of relationships in terms of remarkable differences and similarities. On the one hand, it is unequivocal that online friendships differ from offline friendships regarding the diversity and intimacy aspects. With virtual rapports, there is an undeniably wide range of friends concerning nationality, language, or religion since advances in technology have made it more convenient to form international connections among people. For example, Asians can communicate with Europeans via popular social media sites such as Facebook despite the distance between them being half a world away. With traditional rapports, however, the variety of friends might be restricted due to the living environment. For instance, people usually tend to participate in face-to-face meetings held near their neighbours instead of putting great effort into travelling to totally different places to make new friends, hence having fewer chances to diversify their social networks. Additionally, intimacy is also a significant difference between these two types of relationships. Talking about cyber friendships, people seem to open up with strangers they meet through online websites much faster and more easily. It is obvious that social media provides a sense of anonymity which may make people more comfortable to share about personal information, thus helping people form close-knit relationships straightforwardly. Regarding real-life friendships, it is undoubted that these connections often require a lot of trust and intimacy in terms of physical interaction along with face-to-face contact on a regular basis in order to create truly strong bonds. As people are unable to hide their psyche or reputation when meeting others in person, they might affect the atmosphere of the meetings or the relationships. On the other hand, virtual and real-life friendships still share several similarities in which emotional risks appear to be the most considerable. Clearly, there is usually a high chance of people being emotionally hurt whenever they decide to have close bonds with strangers whether online or offline. Conflicts and falling-outs happen in almost every companionship, thereby, certain kinds of feelings might all be experienced by people in these relationships. For example, it is apparent that everyone might be distressed when encountering misunderstandings with their acquaintances. In conclusion, there are a number of similarities and dissimilarities between cyber and traditional friendship with regard to variety as well as attachment. Therefore, people should take these aspects into consideration when progressing their own circle of friends.