Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since the Internet has replaced their functions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As the internet has been widely used, this modern trend poses challenges to public libraries. Some people contend that the internet poses challenges to public libraries in terms of providing information for the public. Thus, they think that preserving public libraries is a wasteful spending because the Internet has substituted for their purposes. However, from my perspective, public libraries still play an irreplaceable role in modern society and the internet can not completely take the place of public libraries. First off, public libraries can create a better learning atmosphere than the internet does. That is primarily because public libraries usually have many strict rules so that they can provide better immersing and quiet atmosphere. For instance, speaking loudly, dressing improperly or doing any form of entertainment will be forbidden. Under the circumstances, people can concentrate on studying or reading with higher efficiency. However, using internet is easy to be distracted as there are many movies and games provided. Additionally, public libraries can serve as a more reliable source of information for the public than the internet does. Specifically, information from books is more trustable as a result of writers’ professional experiments and surveys, it’s traceable. In addition, before being published, they need proofreading and reviewing. Therefore, a large amount information from books is trustworthy by scholars, experts as well as university students. For example, professors require their students to refer to the printed books and highly regarded articles from libraries rather than the Internet. Conversely, false or inaccurate information is easily exposed to the Internet. It is true that the Internet can offer easy access to a wealth of information. However, misleading information is easily exposed to the internet. Also, public libraries have become as multipurpose as venues for a variety of cultural activities and landmarks for a city. In conclusion, I think the advantage of public libraries cannot be easily replaced by the internet.