In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

The agricultural sector has seen noticeable transformations in recent years in terms of innovation and mechanization. However, famine still remains a pressing problem in a high number of areas all over the globe. I tend to believe that the causes are primarily related to a country’s financial instability, as well as total ignorance and at times indifference on the part of certain individuals. To begin with, the highest percentage of people deprived of regular access to food are often located in underdeveloped countries or in poor regions. Their budgets are often tight and might not include financial resources to develop agriculture to feed their own population, not to mention the prospect of exporting products. The lack of proper funding leads to stagnation in this sector, with no chance to cultivate land efficiently or earn from export. Additionally, officials turn a blind eye to the problem of malnutrition and make no effort to ameliorate the situation. For example, instead of allocating money to land cultivation, people in charge use it to construct shopping malls or entertainment centres. They suppose this will bring them more profit and raise a city’s image, forgetting about food issues. Nevertheless, the situation is not hopeless and there are several measures to be implemented to wrestle with this burning issue. To begin with, a country in need could borrow a necessary amount of money from the World Bank to start expanding its agriculture. If the area has many fertile lands, it will definitely pay off soon. Moreover, special committees should be created to monitor the finance flows and to avoid corruption schemes. To conclude, although it is obviously hard to eradicate the issue of hunger immediately, I hold the view that it should be a country’s main objective. Provided that authorities distribute sponsorship money wisely and show enthusiasm, the scheme may well work out.