In many countries large amounts of foods are wasted. Why do you think people waste food in this way? What can be done to reduce the amount of food thrown away?

Despite humans having developed more advanced technology that is capable of producing abundant amounts of food, in many countries, a staggering quantity is still being wasted. I think that this phenomenon is caused by the steps that are experienced by raw edibles can produce some side products that can not be eaten anymore. To avoid this problem, engineers might be able to do research and find out more methods to utilize wasted products. First, food waste and loss are caused by the steps that are taken to make final products. All uncooked vegetables and other eatables can not be consumed entirely. For example, the roots of carrots, leeks, or celery can not be consumed as they do not have any flavour or nutrition whatsoever. In short, this problem is increasing significantly because not all parts of plants are nutritional, hence, they are dumped as trash. To solve this, scientists are struggling to innovate and utilize lost materials as sources of biofuel or other environmental-friendly energy. For instance, an unused part of a palm tree, called the fruit bunch is capable of producing beta carotene substance which is able to generate a brown to orange colour if processed properly with a specific type of microorganism. In short, maturing research projects with an objective to use wasted edible components is helping the world suppress the related downward. In conclusion, wasting foodstuffs is a big disadvantage for many people in the world because there are parts that are not nutritional and not worth eating. However, smart people from all over ought to be eager to innovate some intelligent ways to make use of these lost eatables.