According to some people, death penalty must be used as a punishment for people who committed serious crimes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of capital punishment?

The death penalty is arguably the most controversial punishment that can be used to deal with crime. Thoughts on the usefulness of capital punishment vary, but according to a certain view, the death penalty must be used in cases of severe crime. Although the nature of the death penalty is violent, which is why it is so often criticized, there are some benefits of applying it. Capital punishment is the act of taking the life of a criminal. It is possibly the most extreme way of punishing a human, a fact that has made many countries abolish this measure. Many people believe that such a method of dealing with crime is unethical, and that can often be related to people’s cultural beliefs. Also, the death penalty is often viewed as revenge, meaning it is more connected to emotions than rationality. These are the reasons why some consider capital punishment to be disadvantageous. Not all countries have abolished the death penalty, however. Over 50 countries still execute heinous criminals and benefit from certain aspects of capital punishment. Those advantages are crime deterrence and economic savings. To be specific, using the death penalty may allow officials to instill a sense of fear in criminals. This may explain why some executions in countries such as Iran, Saudi Arabia and Egypt are public. With regard to the economic point, it is evident that executing a criminal cuts costs of prison maintenance. Put simply, less money is likely to be spent on expenses such as food and electricity if more criminals are executed instead of being given a life sentence. In conclusion, while the death penalty appears to be too violent and useless for some people, it offers a few benefits associated with preventing crime and saving money.