Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

It is a common belief that living in a foreign country where speaking its language is compulsory may bring various kinds of difficulties. However, I partly agree with this idea since it may first cause several issues in the short term, but in the long run, people would consider it as a tool to fit in an entirely new place. In the short term, constantly using a non-native language to communicate can cause problems for individuals who are not fluent in it. In this case, the lack of convenience would appear and it would perhaps become a disadvantage during their daily activities. For example, most foreign students find it difficult to fully understand a normal conversation due to the fact that they do not entirely comprehend the language itself, therefore, it may cause misunderstandings. However, in the long run, these problems would be diminished as continual exposure to a certain language would ultimately enhance the ability to use and understand it. For instance, a wide variety of foreign students and foreign workers who have spent years after years using a non-native language are eventually able to communicate with native speakers while completely understanding the context and the meaning of what they hear. Hence, in the long run, these problems would be diminished as continual exposure to a certain language would ultimately enhance the ability to use and understand it. To sum up, while using a foreign language to speak can bring several problems at first, it is evident that these issues would finally be eliminated due to continuous engagement in using a new language. For these reasons, I partly agree with the aforementioned point.