Classroom attendance at universities should be optional. What is your opinion? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Participation in classes is mandatory in many countries around the world. Many people argue that attendance should not be mandatory, as mandatory attendance will make students feel pressured and unable to devote time to the outdoors or extra social activities. I advocate that the current education system becomes more efficient if students attend their lessons regularly. On the one hand, many students feel overwhelmed by the pressure of compulsory attendance and find themselves in situations where attendance is not beneficial to their mental health. This can lead to student burnout, anxiety, and depression. Moreover, compulsory attendance reduces the flexibility of students, limiting their ability to take breaks when they need them or prioritize other aspects of their lives. For instance, students who cannot find time for social activities and cultural activities such as various sports, dance, and art cannot socialize and may feel withdrawn as a result. On the other hand, attendance is a key factor in determining student performance. To illustrate, students who miss school regularly are likely to have lower grades, as they miss out on important lessons, group discussions, and assessments. Hence, compulsory attendance ensures that students have ample opportunities to learn and can complete their studies successfully. In conclusion, the benefits of compulsory attendance outweigh its disadvantages, as it ensures that all students have access to quality education, and improve their learning outcomes. However, the policy should be implemented in a way that is flexible and allows for breaks, such as sick leave and personal days to ensure that student's mental health is not compromised.