3. Some people say that the best way to reduce traffic and pollution is the government to increase tax of petrol (gasoline). Do you think there are more benefits or more drawbacks?

Some people believe that the most effective way to decrease traffic and pollution problems is for the government should tax more on petrol. In my opinion, I think this has more advantages than disadvantages. To start with, there is a significant downside which is the standard of people's living will be decreased because they have the extra bill on petrol tax to pay if they use their vehicles, so they will not have enough money for other valuable parts of life. For example, according to the latest survey conducted by Bangkok University, 80% of Thai people are facing financial problems due to a 30% tax increase on top of fuel costs. The more people have to pay more taxes, the more they are struggling and cannot afford to buy good and quality things for themselves and their families. Despite the drawbacks, there are more benefits to the countries because the governments will have more funds to investigate or improve other facilities such as public transportation or hospitals. For instance, according to the latest news, it was reported that in 2022 the UK government collected 40% more funds from petrol vehicles tax, so they spent those to improve their railway line by extending to the rural areas. Apart from this, it is most likely people are using fewer private cars because of high tax collection and changing their attitude toward using public transport. As a result of this fewer cars will be on the roads and public transport such as trains will be more popular among the population because of the extension network to the countryside. To illustrate, from the survey, it was revealed that people changed their way of commuting to work by 50% choosing public transport while 10% of the UK population are investing more in electric cars. The more people use clean energy vehicles or public transport, the fewer problems with traffic congestion and pollution. In conclusion, I would therefore argue that although there are disadvantages to the current trend, they are outweighed by the advantages.